Venn Diagram of Public Universities in Maryland

A Venn diagram of public universities in Maryland. Although it is not indicated, Morgan State University; the University of Baltimore; and the University of Maryland, Baltimore are formerly private institutions.
Recently, I got fed up with just how confusing the system of public universities in Maryland is and decided I needed to make a Venn diagram of it to explain and keep track of things. This was, at least in part, motivated by efforts to explain to friends from out-of-state what the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, where I’ve been teaching for over a year, is.

The “University System of Maryland” includes five former teaching colleges (formerly the “State University and College System of Maryland”), five schools that were originally part of the “University of Maryland Network”, the University of Baltimore, and the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science.

Not part of the system are St. Mary’s College of Maryland and Morgan State University, both of which declined to join the system and were politically powerful enough to prevent a merger. Maryland and Virginia also operate the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, and two US military schools (the Naval Academy and the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences) are located in the state.

There are also two University System of Maryland satellite campuses–in Shady Grove and Hagerstown–which are not separate institutions, but rather satellite campuses shared by a number of universities, and so are not shown on the Venn diagram.